Fishermen s bastion, Budapest, Hungary
This part of Buda's fortifications was defended by the fishermen's guild. They also have the fish market near the church of Our Lady. The fortifications lost their military function around 1875 and the old towers were abandoned.
Frigyes Schulek, who rebuilt the church of Our Lady, transformed these walls into a Neo-Romanesque fairy tale at the end of the 19th century. He also enlarged the old Jesuit staircase to connect the towers with he Danube bend. (This part of the works remained unfinished.) The central court of the Fishermen's bastion is decorated with the equestrian statue of St Stephen, founder of the Hungarian Kingdom. The monument was heavily damaged during the siege of Budapest in WW2 and it was rebuilt by Shulek's son after the war.
The Fishermen's bastion is one of the iconic symbols of Budapest.